First Crop Green Tea 2019

First Crop of the Season (Ichiban-cha) 2019

In Japan, green teas are categorized as first, second, and third based on when the tea is harvested.

  • First harvest of the season is called Ichiban-cha (also called Shincha)
  • Second harvest is called Niban-cha
  • Third harvest is called Sanban-cha (some farms do not even pick the third harvest)

This is also called, "New Crop" or, Shin-cha. Since it is the first harvest, this is referred to as "syun," or seasonable. Japanese culture value the concept of "syun" (seasonable), and an example of it is a famous haiku where it must use a word of season "syun" in the short poem. The characteristics of the first harvest is that the tea leaves are still "young," and bring in richer and clearer aroma.

Steeping Guide
Steeping Guide